Indo-Chinese Cooking. · Rice Varieties.

Restaurant Style Indo Chinese Veggie Fried Rice.

All my life my favourite order in any restaurant would almost always be “Veggie Fried Rice and Gobi Manchurian. Unfailingly, my mom and cousins would throw up their hands in despair….”Why don`t you even want to try anything else”?? In my opinion, If a restaurant would make fantastic Veggie Fried Rice, they would get notched up a few more stars in their ratings with me!!! Not that my ratings had anything to do with the overall rating of the restaurant. But almost always, this would most definitely work.  One of my favourite haunts in the last few years has been “Ginger Capsicum Fried Rice” from Mainland China. I would order Vegetables in Chinese Parsley Sauce on the side and order their amazing Black Pepper Sauce on the side. I simply love their black pepper sauce which was a side with their soft and tasty Veggie Dumplings….I had been craving for this Veggie Fried Rice for a long long time and I decided it was really time to take matters in to my own hands….I must say I was extremely pleased with the results and all of us were up for seconds and “thirds”…

INGREDIENTS:

2 Cups Basmati Rice.

1 Cup Red/Yellow/Green/Orange Pepper sliced thin and long.

1 Cup thinly shredded Cabbage.

2 carrots sliced thinly.

2 stems of Spring onion shredded finely.

1 inch Ginger chopped very fine.

4 Garlic Pods chopped fine.

Salt to taste.

1 tsp Pepper Powder.

A pinch of Ajinomoto.

1 Tsp Soy Sauce.

Sesame Oil / Canola Oil.

PREPARATION:

  • Cook the basmati rice with just 1 1/2 cups of water. Totally for 2 cups of rice, use 3 cups of water, add a spoon of oil to the rice and cook using rice cooker.
  • Set aside to cool when done.
  • Meanwhile take a wide mouthed wok and add 3 spoons of oil.  I used the oil leftover from frying the manchurian balls for making Veggie Manchurian. I am sure that would have worked its own magic in adding tons of flavour and taste.
  • When  the oil is hot enough, add the diced ginger and garlic. This is what adds the flavour and authentic indo chinese taste to the fried rice. The more finer you chop the ginger and garlic, its better as it flavours and perfumes the oil, which is the base for sauteing all the other veggies.
  • After a few seconds, add the thinly sliced peppers, cabbage and the carrots. Stir fry in the oil for a few minutes.

  • Add salt for the veggies, pepper powder and a pinch of ajinomoto. Stir well.
  • Dont allow the veggies to get mushy and lose their crunch so dont cook the veggies too much.
  • In a few minutes, add the cooked rice and carefully stir all the ingredients.
  • Add 1 tsp of soy sauce, salt and mix well.
  • Garnish with chopped spring onion and enjoy the aroma wafting around you.
  • Enjoy hot Veggie Fried Rice with Vegetable Manchurian Gravy.

66 thoughts on “Restaurant Style Indo Chinese Veggie Fried Rice.

  1. I think we were twins before or something. This used to be my standard order anywhere I go too…and also of course something with paneer! LOL!

    Your fried rice looks so attractive. I love love the thin shreds of cabbage! I think the whole secret of veggie fried rice is in the pepper. That just makes it perfect. I so get what you’ve done here!

  2. Being a big fan of indo-chinese flavors, I am sure I am going to enjoy this. Thanks for the recipe..

  3. Hi Shobha, what a co-incidence I made same rice today except ajinomotto….yes they do taste good…love your plate of rice too……for your ques. we were in town only, enjoying some time in the neighbourhood……how about u guys…..will call u actually if S likes to play with R in the mornings(today was the first day with no summer school & she is already stuck with “what do I do”)….

  4. Hey hemi,

    thanks for the comment..i was craving and craving, and i thot, here goes let me at least give it a try…and it was wayyy better than the restaurant food…great taste without the grease!!!

  5. @ Vanamala,
    Thanks fr your comments.
    @ Kay,
    Try it and you`ll never be able to put your spoon down!!!

    Shobha

  6. Lovely recipe and a neat presentation. Like the chinese style of rice, kids will love to devour it. Nice to be here. Stay connected, take care.

  7. wow!!!!! i am hungry now:- (:-( 🙂 even i order the same everytime we go out..this time i am gonna try it out myself!

  8. @ Jyo, yes if you really really try at home. its soo tasty and awesome,. Ill post Veggie Manchurian soon.

    @ Sripriya. thanks for your comments.

    @ Priti and Sangeetha KK,

    My daughter who hates bell peppers and cabbage, actually loved this one…

    Shobha

  9. Hi Shoba, fried looks so tempting Shoba. Nice click. Like u said, I always order fried rice no matter where I go, Indian or chinese or Thai. My all time favorite.

  10. Hi Nithu,

    Thanks for the comments. It was and will always remain my all time favourite…
    🙂 Shobhz

  11. It was just right…My daughter Cynthia tried it out ( her maiden project in cooking)…she added a Maggi chicken stock cube and minus the ajinomoto…and it came out superb…good recipe and a very good website…awaiting more such practical recipes..!!!

  12. Hi Shoba, whenever I am lose inspiration for cooking, I just have to look up ur site and then I am brimming with cooking ideas. Loved this recipe of yours, made it today, and it went well with all at home.

    Thanks for sharing

  13. whenever I am lose inspiration for cooking, I just have to look up ur site and then I am brimming with cooking ideas. Loved this recipe of yours, made it today, and it went well with all at home.

    Thanks for sharing

  14. Thanks Laks,

    Comments are always a wonderful way to completely inch up my confidence, and my day…Feels great !!!

    Shobha

  15. Hmmmm… ur fried rice looks yuummmmmmmmmmmy… would love to taste is tooo… the photos are awesome… where do you shop for these veggies?
    What brand of Rice do you use? looks beautiful!!!

    keep it up.

  16. Thanks a lot for the recipe. I prepared this today, following your recipe exactly and it came out great. See my blog for pics of my version.

  17. Hey Jyo,

    i am glad that you tried it and you liked it!!!! Wow…you are getting to be too good a chef these days!!!

  18. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a lovely comment. This looks delicious! I love vegetable rice dishes- especially when someone else is cooking! Do stop by often 🙂

  19. Hi Shoba, thanks for visiting my space.
    The rice looks really nice and you have chopped the vegetables very neatly and finely.

  20. @ pari, i love chopping veggies very thin…makes cooking all the more easier…

    Shobha

  21. Hi Shobha,

    Thanx for this wonderful recipe…. I tried this receipe and came out really tasty, colorful etc etc….. Can u post receipe for veggie manchurian too….

  22. Shobs, The second picture is holding me dumbstruck! It so cexactly looks like served in restaraunts. Bookmarking. Eppo try pannuvaennu theriyadhu, but will surely and let you know.

  23. Hello lataji,

    thanks for your comments. Please do try it and let me know…You`ll def love it…and so will nikki!!!

    Shobha

  24. hai shobha i am new to this site and am enjoying ur recipes and this one came out so well that i have become one of the best chef in my flat and thanks a lot i am really happy for such mouthwatering dishes .their photos and ur way of presenting —–even a bad and uninterested cook will become super cook thanks

  25. am so glad that the fried rice came out so well…my blog aims at simply making other people`s life a lot easier….thanks for your comments.

    Shobha

  26. Hello Shoba,
    I’ve been a visitor here for quite sometime. I have tried few recipes from here & whenever I try something from your blog, I give you credits at home but I thought its time I told you about it 🙂

    I tried this fried rice the day before and there was not a single morsel left after dinner! My in-laws, my husband & I loved it! It was yummy & the great plus – such an easy procedure!!!! Thanks to you for sharing your knowledge 🙂

    Savithri

  27. Shoba,
    Tried the veg fried rice and it came out so good..i’ll be making it more often now…I’ve put a picture in my blog..
    Deepa

  28. Hey, I tried your recipe today, it turned out to be great.. I added rice vinegar on top of soya sauce… thanks for sharing…

  29. Hi Shoba

    Ennavendru Solvadhama Shoba vin kai vannathai 🙂

    Yumm!! Tried this today and it tastes great. Thanks. As I told you everyday cooking also with your blog only

  30. tried this today… unlike other complex recipes, was so easy to make, yet the taste was right on the money! thank you for sharing.

  31. I tried this today… it was awesome… I substituted cross cut bean for cabbage. thanks Anubhavati for this recipie….

  32. My little daughter’s all time favorite is Fried Rice. And whenever i make it at home, it never used to come near the restaurant style. After I tried your recipe today, first time she said “mom you have beaten the hotel taste” thank you sooooooooo much for sharing 🙂 with loads of love, Kanthi

  33. I am laughing here! When we go to our favorite restaurant here, we also order fried rice, gobi manchurian and stuffed kulcha – regularly. Not that we don’t want to try anything new, but we have, and come to the conclusion that this is the best combo. I can’t wait to try this recipe. I make fried rice, but have been wanting to make it just like the restaurant’s tastes! Thanks!

  34. Its so amazing to see so many lovely comments for a close to heart recipe like Chinese Fried rICE. Thanks for the comments Vidya Sury.

    Shobha

  35. I wouldn’t use the oil used to fry Manchurian balls. Boiled, used oil has free radicals which are carcinogenic. It’s best to use fresh oil although I agree, the manchurian oil would bring a nice flavor

  36. I love Chinese food .They are so light and easy on the stomach.The instructions are clear and the photos are great.Thank you for sharing it.

  37. wow folks thats amazing…thanks for all the lovely comments. Keep them coming always!!!
    Shobha

  38. Wow wonderful taste . I have tried it . I am a 9th Standard student . I am a often visitor of this site . As I made it all have a great command . Thanks o lot

  39. I tried your Indo Chinese fried rice recipe yesterday and it was awesome!! Thanks 🙂
    -Nandini

  40. I have been obsessed with veg fried rice for a while now and have been trying all kinds of recipes. I found yours’ yesterday and tried it.. and it was bang on! I kept smelling the dish for 5 minutes. It was like restaurant in my kitchen !!

  41. @ Chandna,

    I am so happy you tried it and liked it so much. Keep visiting Anubhavati leave me your comments. It really makes my day.

    Shobha

  42. Thank you for your awesome recipe. All the tiny details really helped and made a great meal for the family in under an hour!

Your opinions are the windows to your heartfelt views...Keep them coming...