Naivedhyams/ Festival Offerings. · Sweets

Rich in Flavour – Quick Jackfruit Payasam – Neivedhyam for Avani Avittam.

As always mentioned, I have an eternal love affair with the jackruit. I simply love the aroma it brings and the sweetness of the fruit revealed in its aroma. Everytime I visit Chicago, I make it a point to buy these juicy bulbs and enjoy them back home, simply eating them and getting back to heaven for a fleeting instant!  This time around, I wanted to make this payasam with this sweet fruit and offer it as Neivedhyam to the Lord. It is a very simple preparation that hardly takes more than ten minutes…

INGREDIENTS:

10 numbers of ripe jackfruit bulbs.

2 Cups Milk.

1/4 Cup Light Coconut Milk. (Optional)

2 Tsp Fresh Coconut grated.

1/4 Cup Sugar.

1 Tsp Cardamom Crushed.

Handful of broken cashews.

Pinch of Saffron Strands.

PREPARATION:

  • Warm 1/2 cup of milk + 1/4 Cup Coconut Milk in the microwave. Soak the cashews and saffron strands in them and let them sit.
  • Wash the jackfruit bulbs clean and cook them in a little water for a few minutes, over the stove top.
  • Grind the cooked jackfruit with a little milk. Set aside.
  • In the same mixer jar, add the fresh coconut and the soaked cashew pieces. Grind to a smooth paste using little milk. Take care to grind the cashew and coconut well before adding all the milk that you have used to soak the cashews. When you use that much milk to grind, it only causes spillage and does not ensure the smooth grinding of the coconut.
  • In a heavy kadai, add the ground cashew coconut paste, jackfruit paste, remaining milk, sugar and crushed cardamom powder and allow to boil.
  • If you feel that the payasam consistency is a little thick, add a little more whole/2% milk to temper it.
  • Switch off when it comes to a boil and serve hot or chilled.

6 thoughts on “Rich in Flavour – Quick Jackfruit Payasam – Neivedhyam for Avani Avittam.

  1. I’m not a big fan of jackfruit – yes..I know..go ahead…chide me..but really I’m not a big fan – I think when we were kids, the smell would put us off – no one except my mom likes this at home – so she would sneak in some for herself but we would find out as the whole fridge would smell if she had a box of this somewhere in there!

    Having said that, looking at your payasam – I at least want to give this fruit a second try. Who knows, now that I’ve grown up – I might actually find this good like the millions of others who love it! And I have a feeling all the coconut and cashews will sure add to it – I’d eat anything that has coconut, cashews and sugar! So, bring it on!

Your opinions are the windows to your heartfelt views...Keep them coming...