Snacks & Tiffin Items

Easy Breezy Vegetable Cutlets –

Cutlets have always been fancy food for me even when we were little kids. I guess we all love fried foods and I was no exception. Whenever there used to be a chance to eat out, which used to be few and far between, my favourite orders would always be “cutlets” in a fast food restaurants, and Veggie Fried Rice for dinner or lunch. I never even  thought about altering it even once at any point of time in my life. I guess there were things that mom would never make at home, so it held its fancy for a long long time, as long as I got married and had my daughter!!!  My all time favourite cutlets were at Balaji Bhavan in T.Nagar and at Woodlands Drive In Restaurant on T.T.K Road, Chennai.

Recently, I realised the pleasure in cooking and serving food made at home, to our loved ones and decided that I had to make vegetable cutlets at home. Made with clean and fresh vegetables, and pure cooking oil, it is an unmistakably delicious fried treat, to be had with hot piping coffee on cold and rainy days!!! The list of ingredients could be long and winding, but it needs instant and quick assembly…more so with the help of modern day conveniences like microwave, food processor etc .

INGREDIENTS:

4 Medium Potatoes Boiled

1 small onion chopped

5 Green Chillies Chopped

1 Tsp Red Chilli Powder

Pinch of Turmeric POwder

1 Beetroot Grated

2 Carrots Grated

1/2 cup peas.

1/2 cup tender green beans.

4 garlic pods finely chopped.

Ginger grated.

Fennel

Jeera

2 Tbsp Maida

Oil.

Handful of cashew

Pinch of Sugar

1 Tsp lemon Juice.

Bread Crumbs to completely coat the patties.

Cilantro Chopped.

PREPARATION:

  • Boil the potaotes for just one whistle with salt. Set aside.
  • Chop onions, garlic, ginger and chillies finely.
  • Grate carrots, beetroot and keep aside.
  • Take 2 bread slices and pulse it for a couple of seconds to get smooth bread crumbs.
  • Take grated  beans and peas and boil in microwave  for 4 minutes.
  • In a kadai add oil somph, jeera, green chillies, onions and saute.
  • Then  add turmeric, red chilli powder, salt and stir well.
  • Now add the boiled veggies,broken cashew pieces  and maida  and saute for a few minutes.
  • We do this to completely remove all moisture from the cutlet batter.
  • Now take the mashed potatoes in a abowl  and add the veggies that have been sauteed.
  • Add lemon juice and chopped cilantro.
  • Incorporate the mixture with your hands and make it to a homogenous consistency.
  • Make in to balls and pat it in to the bread crumbs mixture so it sticks on both sides.

  • From then on, one option is to deep fry in hot oil until the cutlets are well done.

  • Another healthier option is to shallow fry in the dosa pan until both sides are crisp and golden brown.
  • Serve HOT with sweet and tangy tamarind chutney or with Tomato Ketchup.

10 thoughts on “Easy Breezy Vegetable Cutlets –

  1. Agree that with little bit of planning, cutlets make a tasty snack. I too shallow fry the cutlets. I don’t remember ever deep frying it.

  2. oh i love cutlets! particularly the ones with beetroot in it. I usually add some garam masala along with the rest of the ingredients, but no garlic!

  3. OMG. You reminded me of my BB..balaji bhavan – I’ve been there so many times during my college days – I still go there when I’m in Chennai – walk straight up in the narrow steps – agree with you on their cutlets.

    Your cutlets look awesome and as I read your post on how to eat them fresh with piping hot coffee – you transform me virtually to that place – that place where its just you and your food – heaven!

    Loved the post!

Your opinions are the windows to your heartfelt views...Keep them coming...

